Stay in Shape

sporthijab

I started reading Sex and the Citadel, and so far the book has not turned me off yet. I actually think certain passages are quite funny! For instance, this passage on copulation made me laugh so much that I was crying. To reiterate, it said that sex is the opposite of sports. While sports is widely talked about and barely practiced, sex is taboo when we know everyone is doing it! It is true if you think about it. We tend to hide from others to misbehave and make new years’ resolution we never get around to. We do it and are ashamed to talk about it freely. Having said that, I am not advertising raunchy behaviors and talks. There is no need for vulgarity when it comes to commonly taboo subjects. Copulation should not be taboo. We should talk about it openly to avoid diseases being spread, cheating, and unhappiness in couples. A couple that copulate regularly is healthier and stats show this. Now let me go back to the main subject of this post, sports.

surfer

Sisters, just because we wear a Hijab does not mean we can not stay active and healthy. Walk a few times a day. Get your hubby to walk with you every now and then. I actually practice that. Go to the gym. You can swim, surf, etc. Our Prophet (pbuh) encouraged a lot of sports such as swimming, archery, walking, horse riding, racing, etc. Now, with the rise of Muslim women entrepreneurs, swimsuits and sport apparel for an Islamic audience are no longer an issue. I slack sometimes but I get back on track when there is an incentive at work :P. I am only human ;). May be we can come up with our incentives instead of waiting for work-program to push us in the habit. Get with the hubby or friends to come up with cool ideas. For instance, I will suggest to my husband that if I shed a few pounds (Not that I am big anyhow), we can visit a city of his liking. Make it in the way that he gets somethings out of it besides you looking amazing! That way he will encourage you in your journey to stay fit.

According to Sunan Abi Dawud, Ai’sha (may Allah be pleased with her) said: “I competed with the Messenger of Allah (in running) and overtook him. Later, when I had put on some weight, I once again competed with him, but this time he overtook me and said: “We’re even now”.

See even the scripture agrees with me! 🙂

Just make sure that your clothes are not revealing or too tight. Proper Hijab will be my next topic.

prophijab

Girls, women, sisters (Muslims or non-Muslims), what are your workout routines?
Anything you practice on a daily basis that is effective that would fit in our daily busy schedules? Please share your thoughts! ^_^

P.S. I Take no credits for the pictures 🙂

Papatia Feauxzar

Author of “Between Sisters, SVP

About Papatia

Papatia Feauxzar is an Author who holds a Master degree in Accounting with a concentration in Personal Finance. She now works from home alhamdullilah. You can visit her website at www.djarabikitabs.com
This entry was posted in Hijab, Muslimah, Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stay in Shape

  1. RiverPearl says:

    Only recently started the gym… Must admit I am pretty lame at committing to anything other than a tub if Hagen Daz lol. But inshallah also have plans to start jogging after work in the New Years – build stamina and stay productive ✌️

    Like

  2. This is very good, Ummah’s women find many funny excuses to not exercise and you have listed all the goodies on doing it!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

