My thoughts on Americanah

americanahPeace be unto you readers and bloggers. This is a different read and review compared to what I normally blog about…

Anyways, I enjoyed reading this book for many reasons. One is the fact that it addresses so well the challenges immigrants face abroad; especially the United States and the UK.

Another reason is the fact that it felt a little too real for me as I’m also an Americanah to some extent. I immigrated to the USA to further my studies when I was in my late teens. I felt the struggles of the protagonist and lived many scenarios as well. All I can say that, I’m grateful to have succeeded abroad because many loose their ways.

So race, love, bigotry, culture, corruption, religion and almost all other social ills; the book addresses it tactfully. It’s hilarious yet serious.

Three quotes stayed with me amongst many others and there are true:

  • Enemy of progress (This was used to denote a uppity black British woman who looked down on African Immigrants)
  • Immigrant is code for Muslim (This was used in a conversation to refer to the state of politics in the UK at some point in time)
  • An African becomes black when he or she comes to the USA. Before that, race doesn’t matter to him or her and it’s a rude awakening.

I give it a 4/5. Not 5 stars because in writing you have to show rather than tell and this book does it well. However, sometimes, things were so subtle and if you didn’t carefully read between the lines you missed the point.

Overall, it’s very thought-provocative and spares no one or no race! πŸ˜›

Thank you for reading and Gob bless!

Papatia Feauxzar

 

About Papatia

Papatia Feauxzar is an Author and Muslim Publisher who holds a Master's degree in Accounting with a concentration in Personal Finance. You can visit her website at www.djarabikitabs.com or her sister's website www.fofkys.com
This entry was posted in Reading, Reviews, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to My thoughts on Americanah

  1. This seems like a really good read. Normally I try to keep my TBR light-hearted and read about social issues through blogs or newspapers, but this might have changed my mind.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Annie B says:

    Sounds like an interesting read. Was it quite heavy going? Sometimes I know books like this can be.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gingey bites says:

    I’ll have to give this a read, I love reading and this book sounds both challenging and interesting. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. gingey bites says:

    I enjoy reading and this book sounds good- both challenging and interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anca says:

    An interesting read, I would like to read it. I immigrated in UK 4 years ago, so I could relate to some of the things in the book.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. oh it sounds like a book I would enjoy I will add it to my list for next month

    Like

  7. I have read this book on my Kindle and I loved it. Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Rachel says:

    Not my sort of book admittedly but it sounds as though it gave you pause for reflection, which is often a good sign of a decent book x

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This sounds like a must read that will hopefully help educate some people

    Liked by 1 person

  10. bubbablue says:

    Sounds like it’s quite a heavy read, with some serious messages. Not usually the type of book I’d go for.

    Like

Leave a comment