Writing Tips and Some

notebook-1209921_1920There are many things you will read online about writing or even blogging but what these tips don’t always tell you is what I’m about to share with you. This is all by trial and error by the way.

#1 Close your story while you’re still ahead

This is important because you want to leave your readers wanting more. If you keep writing just for the sake of writing, they will get disinterested and bored at one point. It becomes a TV soap…keeps foaming and getting out of hands until it gets cancelled.

#2 Buying a domain won’t always make you known

Sure it makes you look more professional but perhaps start with a website first and not the other way around (a third party hosted blog). What I see happening is that bloggers will be popular when their platform is hosted by a third party. The minute they switch to their personal domain, all these followers disappear along with the shares. I keep my blog because I actually get more traffic on it than my personal website. The politics of SEO and visibility are somewhat random in my opinion like probability (Statitistics). It’s not always technical…

Now, shares don’t always translate into sales. How I know? This post went viral but I guarantee you none of us sold thousands of copies. So when you write, write because you love it and not because you want money out of it. We are curators of our time and history. Think of writing that way. *wink*

#3 Read a lot and take a break to smell the roses

Many of my stories come to me because I stimulate my brain by reading. Challenging things also will always inspire you. When I’m at a dead end, I take a break. Fresh air and looking around me usually help me bloom back into a germinating writer. So R3...Read. Reboot. wRite. (Sharp foreign accent here with the Rrriiiteee)*laughs*

#4 Seek inspiration

If you believe in a higher force, ask Him to bestow upon you the inspiration you need. Don’t forget to ask for what is beneficial and mubarak for you too. There is no need to have that inspiration if it is going to land you in serious problems.

#5 Seek new markets

Advertise your work (not necessarily monetarily) with other readers outside of your normal scope of interaction. Because trust me, it will get saturated. Share your work with people of different groups or who speak different languages. I’m starting to reach out to my French folks because I realized that many can’t read my works which are mainly written in English. After that, I’ll try German insha’Allah. I was top of my class back in the days. Sigh…I forgot most of my German though. It will come to me again God willing.

That’s it for today. I hope these help! I’ll leave you with this below:

sarah-n

 

Papatya*

About Papatia

Papatia Feauxzar is an Author who holds a Master degree in Accounting with a concentration in Personal Finance. She now works from home alhamdullilah. You can visit her website at www.djarabikitabs.com
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing Tips and Some

  1. Saxhida says:

    Selam alaikum, thank you for these important Tips. I love to write but i write very slow. Well, i guess that`s me i had to deal with it. 🙂
    By the way, is that your Moleskine on the Photo?
    I like it. Very Hemingway like 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Papatia says:

      Wa aleikum salam hun, long time! 🙂 Don’t worry, when the time is right, you will pen your story. Just write like you do now until it get into the zone iA 🙂 . About the Moleskine, unfortunately not mine, pixabay free pics 😉 hehe.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. khansana1000 says:

    Great tips Sister like always ! I agree with personal domain thing, I was following some bloggers on wp and when they switched to their personal sites I no longer get their feeds in my wp reader, just by by email notification and they go unnoticed sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

