Because of #AllLivesMatter, We’re Moving to a Muslim Country Insha’Allah!

Assalamu aleikum! Muharram Mubarak ummah 🙂

Below is my latest post on Hayati. I’ll get on those awards you sent my way soon insha’Allah. Muah! Love y’all.

voices-All-lives-matter-imagehttp://hayatimagazine.com/current-news/because-of-alllivesmatter-were-moving-to-a-muslim-country-inshaallah/

***

A couple of weeks ago, I was eating at a restaurant and a trooper entered the establishment stopping me dead in enjoying my meal. I swear I became uneasy and chugged my food and left quickly because some old and troublesome events stirred to the surface.

It was 6 or 7 years ago while I was teaching one of my younger brother how to drive. I experienced something close to the beginning of Sarah Bland’s ordeal. We were driving in the college parking lot at night and a cop stopped us.Upon looking at my driver’s license and my brother’s the officer realized we were Muslims. Back then I wasn’t wearing hijab but my brother’s name was a dead giveaway! He gave us a hard time about the age of driving which we both had met but he was trying to find something. Then the school cop made assumptions that were both racists and stereotyping (If we had bombs in the trunks..etc…no Osama business going here right? he added). I went mad and cussed him out! I mean I was really close to get his license plate and name so I could report that cop to the school. But alhamdullilah after a while, he backed down and left us alone. Reflecting on the events make me tremble. I mean he could have booked me and hurt us for my audacity.

Now, I’m more mature and more patient. But being Muslim has become a fitnah for everybody; covered or not. And if you’re Black, it’s an ‘added bonus’ for the people targeting you.

And with the past events of Trayvon Martin, Michael Brown, Ahmed Mohammed and many more that don’t make it to the headlines, I’m left to believe that this is politics. This has to be a twisted pharaoh project where black males are targeted. And if they’re Muslims, they are under even more scrutiny. I know my brother has and he’s only using his middle name now to avoid uncalled for scrutiny. And I can’t tell you how many times I had a dream that he was in danger. I always call him the next morning when he’s at school to see if he’s okay. Insha’Allah he’ll be okay.

Sure, some of these boys they arrest commit petty crimes or are carrying something illegal every now and then but the penalty they receive is heavy and uncalled for a lot of times. It’s just not fair. Why?

It makes me worry for my own family like clockwork. I swear, being in an interracial marriage, I feel that uneasiness that my own son will not be safe in the USA. Another mom who has a mixed child told me straight up, ‘Make sure he hangs out around White folks and he’ll be fine’. While her advice was disturbing, it’s the sad truth! So we’ve made our decision, we’re moving to a Muslim country insha’Allah. I love the USA but the future of a black man in this country is very blurry and alarming to say the least. While it’s Allah that protect us, we want to put all our chances on our sides and make the move. We pray that it’s mubarak for us, amiin.

When I voiced my fears about my son to my Caucasian friend, she agreed with my fears as well and we joked a bit but we both knew it wasn’t an easy discussion to have and forecasts looked bad. That said, she also thought Africa and the Muslim Eastern Europe didn’t look quite safe these days and that I rethink my position. While I understand where she’s coming from, we’ve made up our minds, the boy will grow up in a Muslim country insha’Allah. We’ll travel to my African country as well even if the media always make the non-citizens of these places feel like every country outside the USA is a war zone. Maybe Africa and Eastern Europe aren’t politically safe right now but at least my son and I won’t be targeted for being Black and Muslim. We don’t see the future but we certainly hope.

This non-Muslim Black family left America. And This Muslim one too. All Lives Matter!

May Allah help us be patient, show more sabr, stay below the radar, and protect us amiin!

Jazak’Allah khair for reading,

Papatia Feauxar

About Papatia

Papatia Feauxzar is an Author who holds a Master degree in Accounting with a concentration in Personal Finance. She now works from home alhamdullilah. You can visit her website at www.djarabikitabs.com
This entry was posted in Current News, Hayati and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Because of #AllLivesMatter, We’re Moving to a Muslim Country Insha’Allah!

  1. I agree with your friend and wish you would reconsider. Honestly, it’s much easier to be a practicing Muslim in this country than it is to be in any of the “Muslim countries” nowadays. Yes, we’re not exactly everyone’s friend in this country, but we do have so many freedoms of practicing our religion that many “Muslim countries” don’t even allow due to political reasons and whatnot. Every place has its cons.

    But, if after serious consideration, you still choose to leave, then have a safe trip and may Allah (swt) bless and protect you in your new home! Ameen!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. anchorkeidi says:

    Aww, dear Sis, all lives do matter and I totally understand your concerns. In sha Allah, your destination will be better than where you are leaving. Moving can be very challenging. May Allah make it easy for you and your family.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re doing the right thing sis and don’t let anyone discourage you. May Allah make it safe and worthy for you. It’s funny how some people try to discourage those wanting to move to a Muslim country saying there’s firnah everywhere. If there’s fitnah everywhere, well, then it’s BETTER to be in a Muslim country with its fitnah than being in a non-Muslim country with its much much bigger fitnah. No comparison whatsoever. And there are many ahadith of the Prophet (sallallahu ‘ alayhi wa salaam) condemning those who live amount the non-Muslims or living in a land where you’re being oppressed for your Deen. People use the excuse of Da’wah for being there, yet mist don’t even do da’wah but they are just consume with the dunia.

    Also, the so-called “freedom” that some talk about is nonsense or they must be living under a rock. There’s no freedom for being Muslim without compromising you Deen. And those who lost their families for no reason surely don’t see the freedom. There’s only freedom for zina, kufr, free mixing, and the like. Many “Muslims” rather enjoy those types of freedom. For every practice Muslim in the West, let’s not even begin to talk about the many more still in the clubs, not praying, etc. It may very well depend a lot on how children are raised, but let’s not pretend that environment doesn’t also play a big part (major one). In a country where children feel the need to hide their identy as Muslims, change their names, and pretend in anyway is a very dangerous society for our eemaan. And you as a parent will be questioned by Allah for what you did to try to change the situation (whether successful or not); but did you do your part? The outcome is not for us to decide, but the effort surely is. And if the so-called freedom of the West is preventing some to leave (if they can), then let’s see when things get worse. Things are and WILL continue to be worsefor Muslims in the West.

    May Allah protect us all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Papatia says:

      Right! That hadith about opression played in my mind throughout this decision sis. Masha’Allah, Jazak’Allah for giving your point of view and seeing where I’m coming from. Ameen sister to your duas, wa iyyaki. Ameen .

      Like

Leave a Reply

