The Written Vs. Not Written Stuff: Death by Stoning a draconian law in Islamic Ummah Part I

The Human Lens

The collaborative series, Part I authored by Saadia Haq

On 11 July 2013, Arifa Bibi, a young mother of two, was sentenced by a tribal court in Dera Ghazi Khan, Punjab Province to be stoned to death. The local a tribal court, known as “panchayat” in Urdu found Arifa Bibi guilty of a grave crime demanding such a harsh penalization.

Her crime: possession of a mobile phone. 

No wait seriously? Yes, the tribal court opined that a married woman in possession of a mobile phone was the greatest sign of her “adulterous nature” that needed to be nipped into the bud, immediately.

So came that fateful day, when Arifa Bibi was taken to a spot, worthy of this punishment. And so arrived the most virtuous brigade; her blood relations including an uncle, cousins and others to hurl stones and bricks until she succumbed. Later, they buried her body anonymously without…

View original post 1,092 more words

About Papatia

Papatia Feauxzar is an Author and Muslim Publisher who holds a Master degree in Accounting with a concentration in Personal Finance. She now works from home alhamdullilah. You can visit her website at www.djarabikitabs.com or her sister's website www.fofkys.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Written Vs. Not Written Stuff: Death by Stoning a draconian law in Islamic Ummah Part I

  1. Arifa bibi’s story shattered my heart into a thousand pieces. May Allah swt give her and the unheard victims of this barbarism jannah!! Ameen..
    ALLAH swt is the most merciful,that’s why even the prophet never encouraged stoning.. Even thou the guy comes and tells prophet saws to stone him,the prophet turns a deaf ear,until he urged to give him the punishment.
    The prophet saws then tells, that had he asked Allah swt to forgive him,surely Allah swt would have.
    This is Islam.. This is the real truth..
    May Allah guide one and all..

    Liked by 2 people

    • Papatia says:

      You have it said all. It’s not encouraged and there is no verse in the Quran that supports this treatment. Thank you for commenting and reading, jazakAllah khair.

      Liked by 1 person

      • A writer from the East says:

        Thanks for the reblog, InshAllah part ii tomorrow!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Papatia says:

        When I think back, I say alhamdullilah. This nonsensical way of thinking is cultural, about ego, and is very dangerous. When I was in high school, my mom bought me a cell phone so she could reach me in the dorms. Immediately, some family members saw it as a means to reach boys. They accused me of all crimes I hadn’t even done. Long story short, they pinned fornication on my head :O .If I lived in a country where stoning was enforced, I wouldn’t be here today. He’s the best of Planners. Bibi is a shahid and I pray for her. Those who wronged her will pay for their sin iA. Great post Saadia! This one packs a punch and hit close to home for me. May He always give you the talent to raise awareness, amiin! 🙂

        Like

    • A writer from the East says:

      Thanks to Papatia for inspiring and collaborating on this series. And thank you very much. As a writer it is very encouraging to hear that my work touches people, your feedback is really valuable, please feel free to review older stories.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Absolutely yes… It really touched the deepest chords of my heart.. Thank you for such stories!!
        It may sound selfish,but such stories just make me feel grateful to Allah swt for his innumerable mercies on me.. And while I crib here over trivial things,someone somewhere is fighting an unknown battle.. Immediately I’m ashamed of my cribbing..
        So thank you for creating awareness as well as waking up the thankful trait in me..
        Jazakallahu khairan!!

        Liked by 2 people

      • Papatia says:

        Wa iyyaki. Saadia is awesome 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  2. A writer from the East says:

    You amazing women are making me blush too much now, thanks so much and the amazing part ii is up on my site 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

