Religion and Intimacy-the “tabooest” subject ever !!!

Assalamu aleikum dear sisters,

question

To each their writing genre right? Well, mine is romance with a kick: intimacy. Would you read a boring love story if there was not a kick? Probably not. Love stories are normally cheesy or cliché when there is no drama or a different flavor involved. Moreover, my stories also teach some things about Islam. My intent is to let the readers draw a moral, learn about Islam while having a good laugh and read.

So why do I feel like people view me as a weirdo? I appreciate the very few that took a chance on my writing and that were not disappointed in the story. If we can agree that the simple act of intimacy is an act of worshiping, why can’t we agree about putting religion and intimacy next to each other? It is Sunnah to make duas (invocations) before the act.

“Bismillah, Allahumma jannibna-sh-shaitan, wa jannibi-sh-shaitan ma razaqtana (In the name of Allah, O Allah,keeps us away from the devil, and keep the devil away from what you may grant us).” Muslim

Therefore, why can we put the R word and the I word in the same sentence? Go figure! We were only created to worship Allah (Subhanahu wata ala).

“And I did not create the jinn and mankind except to worship Me.” Surah 51 Verse 56.

Many if not all halal acts in Dunya are a way of worshiping our Supreme Master. For instance, eating is an act of worshiping. We pray before eating so that the Lord gives us strength to continue praising him. Cooking is another act of worshiping. I try to remember to take niyat (intention) every time I enter the kitchen that says to Allah (Subhanahu wata ala) that I am about to cook for my family so that we gain more strength to worship him. I also pray that the food comes out right so that my family is happy when they eat and praise him for allowing them to be fed. A family not well fed turn on each other making seeking the right path difficult.

Furthermore, intimacy like I said earlier is also an act of worshiping in the way that when a couple is not satisfied, there is no peace in the home. A troubled home makes it hard to focus on the Magnificent.

Again! Why is intimacy such a taboo subject???!!! The sahabas (May Allah be satisfied with them) were never afraid to ask questions of intimacy they were troubled with back then to our dear prophet Muhammad (Sallalahu aleihi wasalam). I don’t have to prove that to you because there is considerable Islamic literature covering this topic. If they were ashamed to talk about such vital subjects of our lives, we would be lost today with no guidance!

The earth is populated with humans. We are crawling everywhere! How was that possible? By intimacy of course! Now that I have said that, there is no room to be vulgar or raunchy. Class and modesty traits need to be upheld every time these subjects are on the table. If you are with your halal loved one, it can even be playful with double meaning and inception ;). I have prayed istikhra for my writing. It came back positive with a hint that it will be a challenging path for me. I put my trust in him and pray that He continue to make my choice halal and worthy of my cause.

I grew up in a household where intimacy was not a taboo just forbidden. My step mom (an old school hijabi and a family practice Physician who just turned 60 this past Feb 2nd) taught us everything there was to know about our bodies. We were just forbidden to do anything before the right time (marriage). She is very big into AIDS campaigns and the like. Every year, she is on the medical team to Mecca. I digress. If people were educated and talked honestly about it, perhaps these scourges or plagues would be under control. I will stop my rant here :)!

Jazak’Allah Khair for reading,

Papatia Feauxzar

Author of “Between Sisters, SVP”

About Papatia

Papatia Feauxzar is an Author and Muslim Publisher who holds a Master degree in Accounting with a concentration in Personal Finance. She now works from home alhamdullilah. You can visit her website at www.djarabikitabs.com or her sister's website www.fofkys.com
This entry was posted in Islam, Islamic Romantic Novels, Reading, Sex Education, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Religion and Intimacy-the “tabooest” subject ever !!!

  1. MashaAllah. I love this. Looking to read more on this again. Jazak Allahu khayr.

    Like

  2. Rabab Maher (^_^) رباب ماهر says:

    As long as it’s approached/stated appropriately, gracefully, tastefully and, most importantly, “Islamically”, there’s no harm (^_^).

    Like

  3. Papatia says:

    Reblogged this on Between Sisters, SVP! and commented:

    If you missed this post early this year, here is a chance to read it! :). Houb salam!

    Like

  4. Fatmawaty says:

    Nice and very informative!
    I love your writing style, so I enjoyed reading your posts.
    Interesting topic for discussion.
    I think not only me, many Muslims need to read this topic.
    Jazakillah khoir for sharing it, my sister! 💗

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I completely agree with you sis, it’s so important to discuss such a key topic! May Allah reward you for educating us! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

