How to Start Reading Al Qu’ran Kerim Without Embarassement

Assalamu Aleikum Dear Bloggers,

Qur'an

How many of us were taught many surahs when we were children and the arabic alphabet along without really teaching us the way to actually read them in the Qu’ran?

I can say that I am one. Learning the arabic alphabet is like learning how to ride a bicycle; in short, you never forget it because it sticks to your head because of the melody that was used to remember it.

This was my luck! In the last three years with my hectic schedule that is less busy now, I have been slowing reading the Surahs that I know and I feel awesome! 🙂 I can honestly say that in the past the only arabic I could read besides the alphabet (with Fat-ha, Dhamma, and Kas-ra) of course were Allah and Muhammad Rasoulloulah.

arabic-alphabet

This is what I did:

– Jumble up the letters and be able to identity them not in order (because we know them by heart in order)

??????????????????????????????????????

-Then, I started getting familiar on the way the different letters look at the beginning, middle, and end. I practiced them to be able to recognize them put out of the blue

arabic position

– Next, I started reading short 3 letters syllable in this PDF below. My only problem with this PDF is that it does not give you the answers. But you can always figure it out what you doing by taking another look at the second step and the alphabet.

http://www.islamguiden.com/arkiv/readquran.pdf

-Finally, I attempted to read the surahs I know in the Qur’an! And guess what?! I can now ^_^. Try Al-Fatihah, Al-Adzan, Al-Ighamatou, Attashahudu, Niyatoul salati, etc. The call to the prayer was way easier to read than anything else I have attempted so far mashaAllah. One tip is to train your eye to recognize these letters. In many languages, a lot of letters are silent, not in arabic. That is what you need to realize first. Once you understand that, it comes and flows easily.

-Now, the next step is to find a real teacher that help you with the rest but the hardest and shameful part is over ;).

I hope you enjoyed it!

Jazak’Allah Khair for reading,

Papatia Feauxzar

 

Links:

http://www.omniglot.com/writing/arabic.htm

About Papatia

Papatia Feauxzar is an Author and Muslim Publisher who holds a Master degree in Accounting with a concentration in Personal Finance. She now works from home alhamdullilah. You can visit her website at www.djarabikitabs.com or her sister's website www.fofkys.com
This entry was posted in Islam, Knowledge, Muslimah, Sunnah and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Start Reading Al Qu’ran Kerim Without Embarassement

  1. Papatia says:

    Reblogged this on A Ducktrinor Mom and commented:

    ‘Rush’ and go Arabic 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Build Your Arabic Vocabulary Series | A Ducktrinor Mom

Leave a Reply

