Ishraf; let us be better Muslims

Allah says: “Eat and drink but waste not by extravagance, certainly He (Allâh) likes not Al-Musrifûn (those who waste by extravagance). (Al-A’raf 7:31)
20080822_foodwaste

Assalamu aleikum bloggers! I hope you had an amazing week and weekend :).

Today’s topic is the uninvited party of eating out: ishraf (waste). Every now and then, we eat out. We like to go to this well known Middle Eastern Buffet in the city I live in. The food selection is great and the price is right. Many Muslims families eat there with their friends and relatives. For big parties, you normally see the men and the boys on one side and the women and girls on another long table. This is the good part because you don’t see men and women interacting if there are not mahram.

The bad part about these gatherings is the food waste that takes place without anybody being outraged. Children taking more than they can eat, not cleaning up their plates, and parents doing the same. When there are done eating, food is left untouched on the tables. And it all goes to trash. We need to teach our children better! And we need to lead by example. Muslim should not take any place in food waste! It is so wrong! :/

I remember when I was a child, my parents would scold us if we dropped a grain of rice on the floor while eating. They would asked us if our mouths were whole-punched (meaning if they have holes).  One time, we (children at the time), were not allowed to eat breakfast and lunch so that we can reflect on our bad behavior. We knew better than waste food after that. We were mad at our parents then but today we understand why they raised us that way. We were lucky to have food on the table every single day. Many people do not get even get the chance to get one meal a day. Allah has said that He will take away what we take for granted if we continue wasting. It is so true! How many people do you see and know who were so rich and lived sumptuously and found themselves at the bottom of the latter later in their life? Many and it is sad.

Having said that, I am not saying deprive you children from food to teach them a lesson. Norms have changed, nowadays. CPS will knock at your door if you raise them the way we were raised B-) …

This is what I do when I eat out. I serve myself a little of everything. If I cannot finish, I pay the extra $6 per pound to take the food home. What’s better? Money in this life or the Akhiret? I choose the after-life no matter how much deep inside, my nafs advise me not spend that six bucks and walk out. If I do not want to pay, I beg my husband to help me finish, he always has a bigger appetite ;). The last resort is to put it in the napkin when no one is looking. I take the napkin with the left overs next to the dumpster where I know rodents will get to it. Is that legal? no. Is it ethical? yes! I also use a piece of bread to clean my plate. If you see a slice of bread that has been cut into and put back in the bag, that would be me, oops ;).

Anas said: “The prophet ordered us not to leave anything in the plate and he said: “You do not know in which portion of your food Allah has put the Barakah (Blessing).” (Muslim).

Someone trying to undermine our religion can use this waste behavior against us. Let’s teach our children at home that food waste is not ok. If they don’t waste food at home, they will not when they eat out.

Jazak’Allah Khair for reading 🙂

Papatia Feauxzar

Author of “Between Sisters, SVP”

About Papatia

Papatia Feauxzar is an Author and Muslim Publisher who holds a Master degree in Accounting with a concentration in Personal Finance. She now works from home alhamdullilah. You can visit her website at www.djarabikitabs.com or her sister's website www.fofkys.com
This entry was posted in Islam, Sunnah and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ishraf; let us be better Muslims

  1. Papatia says:

    Almost a year since I wrote this… Anyhow, yesterday, we went to eat at the same place and because of my current condition I can’t fast. We sat in to reserve a table and a few minutes later when it was time for Iftar, the hubby left the restaurant to pray. So, I got in line with my watermelon weighing on my heavy feet. It took him forever to come back so by the time I got to the buffet, I had to get two of everything we would normally eat to be on the safe side. Turned out he also got in line and served himself. Idk when and how because I kept looking out to spot him. Anyways, we ended with more plates than we could eat. I felt bad for this food that could possibly be going to waste and prayed Allah to help me eat it all. Nice try because I couldn’t. I packed the last plate for home and planned to pay the extra money for it as the $6 bucks I wanted to keep in my bank account could cost me Jannah which is priceless. Oh, I can afford way more than that but I am very frugal person . So, the hubby paid for our dinner and as I was dragging behind like a penguin to get to the register the cashier said, “it’s fine. It’s free of charge. Take it home.” He smiled and I was thrilled and grateful. Alhamdullilah !

    Like

  2. anchorkeidi says:

    Your comment is so hilarious! ‘Watermelon’ and ‘dragging behind like a penguin’! May you have a safe delivery. Allah will bless you with wonderful children who will help invite others to the deen, in sha Allah.

    Lovely post!

    Like

    • Papatia says:

      Haha! I’m a very silly person ;). Masha’Allah, I’m glad you like the post. Amiin to your duas; 9 to 10 weeks to go now insha’Allah. Jazak’Allah sister 🙂 . Houb salam!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Non-Ishraf Victory! Yay! | Between Sisters, SVP!

  4. Pingback: This is a lot of food! | Between Sisters, SVP!

Leave a Reply

